Is A Vegetarian Capsule Much Better than One Made of Gelatin

Is A Vegetarian Capsule Much Better than One Made of Gelatin

Capsules are the preferred way for many people to take their medications or health supplements. Not only does a capsule have little or no taste, it dissolve quickly in the intestines and is easy for the drug or supplement manufacturer to fill. Compared with other ways of taking drugs, capsules are not affected by the formulation and thus do not impact on the effectiveness of the drug.

When purchasing empty capsules, there is now a choice to be made between vegetarian or the more traditional gelatin capsule. As both types can be used, preference is often determined principally by the customer needs. Nevertheless, as a pharmaceutical or supplement manufacturer, understanding the materials and benefits of each type of capsule can help you decide the most appropriate one to buy for any given product.

Difference between Gelatine Capsules and Vegetarian Capsules - Gelatine Capsules

Gelatin Capsules

Gelatin is the most common material used in capsule production as not only is it more affordable than the alternatives, but gelatine also has beneficial effects on the body when digested – it is good for the digestive system, protects joints and helps reduce joint pain, assists in improving sleep, lifts moods and improves cognitive functions. Gelatin has been used in medicines for many years and a wide range of gelatin capsules are available commercially, differing in features such as colour, size and flavour. Gelatin itself is an animal by-product that is high in collagen and is produced from the connective tissues of beef or chicken. This can be an issue for consumers who prefer not to eat products of animal origin or have dietary restrictions preventing them from consuming such products.

Although the percentage of people who have restrictions with their preferences is not large, capsule makers should consider another one major factor. Namely, gelatin capsules are preferred for powdered drug formulations. Liquid based formulations are not usually compatible with gelatin, and this should be taken into consideration when choosing the capsule type to use.

Vegetarian Capsules - Kosher Capsules -Halal Capsules

Vegetarian Capsules

The main ingredient of vegetarian capsules is cellulose. It is of natural plant origin and has no known potential health hazards even when taken for prolonged periods, as it is non-toxic. Being not of animal origin, cellulose capsule types are suitable for individuals who have dietary or religious restrictions, which prevent them from consuming products from animal sources. Vegetarian capsules are also classified as Halal or Kosher products, which is important for many individuals. These capsules are also available in a variety of sizes and colour, and by offering both traditional and vegetarian capsules can manufacturer can cover all customer bases.


Before purchasing empty capsules, a manufacturer should understand the intended market as each capsule has its own advantages and disadvantages. Because both types are available in a wide variety of sizes, shapes and colours, it is also important to make sure that the capsule material and the drug formulation are compatible so that the most appropriate capsule material is chosen.

Related Articles

Benefits of Enteric Coated Capsules

Las Ventajas de las Cápsulas de Recubrimiento Entérico

La mayoría de las cápsulas farmacéuticas están hechas de gelatina o una gelatina vegetal similar que se disuelven en el estómago. Sin embargo, algunos medicamentos son más efectivos si se liberan en los intestinos. Por eso se han creado las cápsulas con recubrimiento entérico.

Capsule Dosage Forms – Hard Gelatin, Soft Gelatin, Modified Release and Enteric

Formas De Dosificación Por Cápsula

En LFA Machines ya vendemos encapsuladoras, por lo que nos parece muy importante dar toda la información posible sobre el tema. En este artículo exponemos el tipo de cápsulas que existen y sus aplicaciones usuales.

Gelatin capsules

Cómo Se Fabrican Las Cápsulas De Gelatina

Con el avance de la tecnología, nos encontramos en un mundo siempre más conectado donde la información es fácilmente compartida por internet, los consumidores se han vuelto más curiosos sobre el origen de los alimentos que compran. Una pregunta que merece respuesta es de qué están hechas las cápsulas de gelatina y cómo se fabrican. La buena noticia es que la gelatina es un producto completamente natural y está considerado un alimento.  

© 2024 LFA Machines Oxford LTD. Todos los derechos reservados.