Is A Vegetarian Capsule Much Better than One Made of Gelatin

Is A Vegetarian Capsule Much Better than One Made of Gelatin

Capsules are the preferred way for many people to take their medications or health supplements. Not only does a capsule have little or no taste, it dissolve quickly in the intestines and is easy for the drug or supplement manufacturer to fill. Compared with other ways of taking drugs, capsules are not affected by the formulation and thus do not impact on the effectiveness of the drug.

When purchasing empty capsules, there is now a choice to be made between vegetarian or the more traditional gelatin capsule. As both types can be used, preference is often determined principally by the customer needs. Nevertheless, as a pharmaceutical or supplement manufacturer, understanding the materials and benefits of each type of capsule can help you decide the most appropriate one to buy for any given product.

Difference between Gelatine Capsules and Vegetarian Capsules - Gelatine Capsules

Gelatin Capsules

Gelatin is the most common material used in capsule production as not only is it more affordable than the alternatives, but gelatine also has beneficial effects on the body when digested – it is good for the digestive system, protects joints and helps reduce joint pain, assists in improving sleep, lifts moods and improves cognitive functions. Gelatin has been used in medicines for many years and a wide range of gelatin capsules are available commercially, differing in features such as colour, size and flavour. Gelatin itself is an animal by-product that is high in collagen and is produced from the connective tissues of beef or chicken. This can be an issue for consumers who prefer not to eat products of animal origin or have dietary restrictions preventing them from consuming such products.

Although the percentage of people who have restrictions with their preferences is not large, capsule makers should consider another one major factor. Namely, gelatin capsules are preferred for powdered drug formulations. Liquid based formulations are not usually compatible with gelatin, and this should be taken into consideration when choosing the capsule type to use.

Vegetarian Capsules - Kosher Capsules -Halal Capsules

Vegetarian Capsules

The main ingredient of vegetarian capsules is cellulose. It is of natural plant origin and has no known potential health hazards even when taken for prolonged periods, as it is non-toxic. Being not of animal origin, cellulose capsule types are suitable for individuals who have dietary or religious restrictions, which prevent them from consuming products from animal sources. Vegetarian capsules are also classified as Halal or Kosher products, which is important for many individuals. These capsules are also available in a variety of sizes and colour, and by offering both traditional and vegetarian capsules can manufacturer can cover all customer bases.


Before purchasing empty capsules, a manufacturer should understand the intended market as each capsule has its own advantages and disadvantages. Because both types are available in a wide variety of sizes, shapes and colours, it is also important to make sure that the capsule material and the drug formulation are compatible so that the most appropriate capsule material is chosen.

Related Articles

Benefits of Enteric Coated Capsules

Benefits of Enteric Coated Capsules

Whether a capsule is made of gelatin or vegetarian ingredients, it is intended to dissolve in the stomach. However, there are times when it benefits the person to have the capsule dissolve in the small intestine and this is what enteric-coated capsules are created for.

Capsule Dosage Forms – Hard Gelatin, Soft Gelatin, Modified Release and Enteric

Capsule Dosage Forms – Hard Gelatin, Soft Gelatin, Modified Release and Enteric

Although LFA Tablet Presses does not sell capsules or capsule fillers we do feel that it is very important to provide our customers with as much information as possible. In this article we discuss the types of capsules and the their potential applications.

Gelatin capsules

How Gelatin Capsules Are Made

As our world becomes more connected and information is shared quite easily in the internet today, people are more curious about where their food comes from. One question that begs to be answered is where gelatin capsules are made of and this is an interesting especially for individuals who pay attention to what they eat. Gelatin capsules are made of natural ingredients and below are some interesting things on how the capsules are manufactured.

© 2024 LFA Machines Oxford LTD. Všechna práva vyhrazena.